MotoGP is one of the classes under the Road Racing World Championship Grand Prix which has its roots tracing back to 1949. The Moto GP is a motorcycle road racing sport in which the bikes are purpose built for racing and are neither available for purchase by the general public nor can they be ridden legally on public roads. Top riders travel the world to compete in the annual world championship series sanctioned by the Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM).

The championship is a household name in Italy and Spain but has continued to garner a worldwide following in recent years. The Moto GP is not only about the bike’s speed or the riders’ navigation skills but also a delicate balance between grip and longevity. Softer compound tyres have more traction, but wear out more quickly while harder compound tyres have less traction, but are more likely to last the entire race. In wet conditions, special tyres called wets which have full treads are used, but they suffer extreme wear if the track dries out.

The MotoGP 2015 season will consist of races at 18 circuits starting with the season opener at the Losail international circuit in Qatar and going on to the USA, Argentina, Spain, France, Italy, Netherlands, Germany, Czech Republic, United Kingdom, San Marino, Japan, Australia and Malaysia. The MotoGP circuits typically run between 3000-5000 miles and are a big part of the heritage and traditions of the motorcycle sport.

Some of the most spectacular circuits include the breath-taking Phillip Island track in Australia which is surrounded by water, while the Losail track holds night races in the desert with such lighted splendour that it is estimated that 3000 homes can be simultaneously powered by the energy used to light it up! The Brno Track in Czech Republic takes the title for crowd capacity hosting up to 250,000 fans while a tradition at Mugello, Italy sees fans invade the track after a race awaiting native hero Valentino Rossi to appear.