The GP3 series is an open-wheel motor racing event inaugurated in 2010 as a support race for the GP2 series and Formula One. It is designed to provide young, upcoming drivers with a chance to develop their driving skills. For this reason, it is set in a Grand Prix environment to provide drivers with first-hand Formula One exposure. As is in the GP2, drivers use the same chassis, engine and tyre supplier and are required to showcase their dexterity in speed and managing tyres, each focal abilities in the GP2 and Formula one.

The GP3 has produced great champions such as Esteban Gutiérrez, Valtteri Bottas, Mitch Evans, Daniil Kvyat and Alex Lynn most of whom have gone on to race in the GP2 series and the pinnacle of motorsport, Formula One.

This year promises an enthralling sixth season of the GP3 series. 24 drivers representing 8 teams will compete over nine rounds with the season opener in Barcelona, Spain and the conclusion in Abu Dhabi. The next race will take place on 19th-21st June in the Red bull Ring, Austria with more monthly events set to take place in Silverstone in Great Britain, Hungaroring in Hungary, Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps in Belgium, Autodromo Nazionale Monza in Italy and Sochi Autodrom in Russia.

The French team ART Grand Prix will be the team to look out for having won all GP3 series championships since its inauguration except in 2014 where Carlin Motorsport gave them a run for their money and clinched the team's’ title.