The WTCC is another spectacular championship under the FIA banner that brings together the very best touring car drivers hailing from national championships all over the world. The WTCC traverses a total of 12 countries in annual events that have been held from March to November since 2005. The WTCC, formerly the ETCC, is an ecosystem on its own, boasting some of the most stunning race cars, talented, young drivers and gorgeous grid girls in modern day motorsport culture.

This year’s series takes place on some of the grandest circuits around the world including Termas de Río Hondo – Argentina, Moscow – Russia, Paul Ricard – France, Vila Real – Portugal, Motegi – Japan and Shanghai – China. Other notable circuits include Nordschleife – Germany, a 25 kilometer daunting track which includes the Grand Prix circuit and the famous Nordschleife loop. The Marrakech Street Circuit in Morocco is big on long straights and tight corners and with concrete walls lining the track, leaving no margin for error at all. Overtaking at Hungaroring – Hungary can be tricky due to its twisty 4.3 kilometer track, but great WTCC action is always likely. The Slovakia Ring is another location to look out for due to weather concerns, particularly heavy rains.

The modern, 12-turn Buriram United International Circuit in Thailand is one of five new venues on the WTCC calendar for 2015 and holds promise of a fabulous race to look forward to. The Losail International Circuit in Qatar can operate for 24 hours a day thanks to a state-of-the-art floodlighting system, which means the WTCC’s first visit to the Middle East will take place under the cloak of darkness for a memorable season finale.

2014 WTCC champion Jose Maria Lopez is currently at the top of the standings table with 177 points, followed by nine-times world rally champion Sebastien Loeb with 127 points. Hot on his heels is four-time champion Yvan Muller with 126 points seeking to win his fifth championship this year.