Motocross is a form of off-road motorcycle racing held on enclosed off-road circuits. The sport has its origins tracing back to 1906 having evolved from motorcycle trials competitions held in the United Kingdom where the fastest rider to the finish captured the victory. During those days it was called ‘scrambles’ but when it went international and gained popularity, it became known as motocross, drawn from the words ‘motorcycle’ and ‘cross country’ due to its physically demanding nature because it was held in all-weather conditions.

The sport grew in popularity so much so that in 1957, it was upgraded it to World Championship status. Shortly afterwards, a 250cc world championship was created in 1962. It was in this category that companies with two-stroke motorcycles came into their own. Companies such as Husqvarna from Sweden, CZ from the former Czechoslovakia and Greeves from England, became popular due to their lightness and agility. Riders from Belgium and Sweden began to dominate the sport during this period. By the late 1960s, Japanese motorcycle companies began challenging the European factories for supremacy in the motocross world. Suzuki claimed the first world championship for a Japanese factory when Joel Robert won the 1970 250cc crown. Motocross began to grow in popularity in the United States as well, fuelling an explosive growth in the sport. This led to the first stadium motocross event being held in 1972 at the Los Angeles Coliseum.

There are four major Motocross competitions. The FIM Grand Prix Motocross World Championship which is predominantly held in Europe is the major Motocross series worldwide. Others include the AMA Motocross Championship, The Motocross des Nations which is held annually at the end of the year after National and World Championship series have ended, and the Maxxis British Motocross Championship which is the main UK off road competition.

In Kenya, motocross has the largest athlete pool among all motor sports. There are six categories in motocross: MX50, MX65, MX85, MX125, MX2, and the open class, MX1. Some of elite Kenya Motocross riders include Shivam Vinayak, Charles Mugo, Cruze Muigai, Anthony Nielsen, Mohammed Anwar, and Tutu Maina. Shivam is the most decorated motocross rider in Kenya with titles such as the MXI National Champion, FIM Central African Motocross Champion, and the Kenyan Motorcycle Cross-Country Champion. On August 28, 2011 during FIM Africa Motocross Championship in Harare, Zimbabwe, Kenya was represented by three riders (Tutu Maina (MX125), Dekker Kihara (MX50), and Rolf Kihara (MX65) and finished 4th out of the six countries represented. In October 14–16, 2011, Kenya hosted the FIM Africa Cross Country Bike and Quad Team Championships in the scenic Soysambu Conservancy in Nakuru.