The Verizon IndyCar Series is an open-wheel racing motorsport event based in America and is governed by INDYCAR. The history of the IndyCar series goes more than a hundred years back in time, beginning in 1909 in Portland, Oregon. The American Automobile Association had been the governing body of the IndyCar series until the harrowing events of the Le Mans race in France 1955 where Pierre Levegh’s devastating crash saw more than 82 fans die. The AAA decided that the sport had become too dangerous and withdrew, paving way for the United States Auto Club (USAC) to lead the series. In 1979 the USAC transitioned into the Championship Auto Racing Teams (CART), after which various name changes took place over the years until Verizon Wireless took up the reigns of sponsorship in 2014.

The IndyCar drivers race on oval tracks and road and street circuits. The Indianapolis 500 is the most prestigious event of the IndyCar calendar held on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway which is regarded as the world's largest sporting facility in terms of capacity. The Indianapolis Motor Speedway was paved just before the World War II although the IndyCar series took a 4-year break during that time and only returned in 1946.

Ted Horn won the championship that year and continued to defend it till 1948 becoming the first ever driver to win three championships in a row. He wasn’t able to celebrate his victory as he was involved in a fatal crash during a dirt race that same year. However, his record went unsurpassed for a remarkable 58 years until Sebastien Bourdais won four championships in a row between 2004 and 2005.

Like most other racing events, the IndyCar Series witnessed a shattering 15 car pile-up at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway in 2011 that saw 33-year old Dan Wheldon die in the carnage. Autopsy results revealed that he died of blunt force trauma to the head after his car flew 99 meters into the catch fence cockpit-first and landed back on the racing surface after his head hit a pole lining the track.